Click to call 602-307-0808 24/7 Click Here for Free Consultation

Arizona DUI Law

Charged with DUI in Arizona with Suspended License

Arrested for DUI in Arizona

Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol while your license is revoked, canceled, suspended or refused in the state of Arizona is considered an Aggravated DUI charge, as specified in Arizona Revised Statutes, ARS 28-1383(A)(1). There are a multitude of reasons why an individual’s license may have been revoked or suspended, including the below:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI) – ARS 28-1381
  • Extreme and super extreme DUI – ARS 28-1382
  • DUI involving serious injury or death – ARS 28-1385
  • Other reasons, as enough points are incurred against the driver’s license

If you are caught driving with a suspended license while under the influence, it is very important that you immediately contact an attorney who knows Arizona law and can help you defend yourself in court. These are serious issues with serious penalties for which you will need the help of a good criminal defense lawyer. (more…)


What You Need to Know About DUI Laws While on Vacation

DUI while on vacation

If you have a summer vacation planned this year, it’s possible that rest, relaxation, and even a few cocktails are part of your itinerary. While you can leave many of your day to day tasks and worries behind, when you’re on vacation, it’s important to remember that things like DUI and accident laws exist wherever you may go.

Drunk driving related accidents occur everyday and are even more prevalent during summer holidays such as Memorial Day, Fourth of July, and Labor Day. The U.S. Department of Transportation reports that millions of Americans get behind the wheel after drinking alcohol and approximately every 2 hours, 3 people are killed in a drunk driving accident. (more…)


What are the Types of Arizona Felony Classes

Types of Arizona Felony Classes

Felony Class Types in Arizona

There are six levels of felony classes in Arizona. Each class has its own guidelines for punishment if convicted. When looking at sentencing, the law presumes that everyone will start at the presumptive sentence however, this sentence can be increased or decreased if mitigating or aggravating factors are found by the Judge or jury. The following sentencing ranges apply to a person with no prior felony convictions.

  • Class 1 – The only crime that falls under a Class 1 felony is murder. Murder charges are divided into two categories: First or Second Degree. First degree murder is punishable by the death penalty or by life in prison without parole. Second degree murder requires a minimum prison sentence of 10 years up to a maximum sentence of 25 years.
  • Class 2 – A Class 2 felony allows for a minimum sentence in the Department of Corrections of three years. This can be increased to up to 12.5 years for aggravated. Probation, with up to one year in jail, is also available.
  • Class 3 – Class 3 felonies allows for a minimum of two years in prison with an aggravated sentence of up to 8.75 years. Probation is also available.
  • Class 4– If sentenced to prison on a Class 4 felony, you face anywhere between 1 to 3.75 years. Again, probation is available.
  • Class 5 – A Class 5 felony provides for a minimum of six months in prison however, can be increased to up to 2.5 years. Probation is available.
  • Class 6 – Although a Class 6 felony, an example could be a DUI in Phoenix, also allows for a probation sentence, if sentenced to prison the range allows for anywhere between .33 – 2 years.

(more…)


Drugged Driving Can Cause Serious Consequences

drugged dui accident

When the term “driving under the influence” is heard, the first thing that usually comes to mind is alcohol intoxication. But alcohol is only one of the countless substances that can impair an individual’s ability to drive. Driving under the influence of drugs, including prescription medications and illegal substance can cause severe consequences. According to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), approximately 10 million Americans drive under the influence of drugs each year, making up 18% of fatally injured drivers. Let’s examine the top three consequences that drugged driving can cause. (more…)


What to do when Arrested for DUI with a CDL (Arizona Commercial Drivers License)

If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and are arrested for a DUI in your personal vehicle, it’s going to have an impact on your license. Today I’m going to walk you through potential outcomes of a Phoenix DUI and discuss your options for dealing with a DUI with a CDL.

If you’re stopped while driving and willingly provide a blood, breath or urine test above .08 percent Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), your license will be suspended for 90 days. Instead, if you meet certain criteria, you may be eligible for a 30/60 day permit. A 30/60 day permit means 30 days of no driving and 60 days of driving restricted to going to and from work, school or a doctor’s office. This is preferable to a 90-day suspension. This suspension is called an “Administrative Per Se” suspension, or “admin per se” for short. In order to qualify for the restricted driving permit after the first 30 days, you’ll have to go through alcohol screening. As part of this process, they’ll tell you that you need to take a certain amount of classes, but completing these classes isn’t required to get the 30/60 permit.

Law enforcement officers may obtain a warrant to compel you to provide a test sample if you aren’t willing to volunteer one. The default suspension for forcing them to get a warrant, called a refusal, is much longer than if you comply. Under implied consent laws (laws that state you agree to BAC testing by driving), your license will be suspended for a full year. This is called an implied consent suspension, and like the admin per se suspension, it can be commuted to a three-month/nine-month permit. Like the 30/60 permit, this allows driving to work, school or a doctor for the last nine months and requires an alcohol screening. You’ll also need an SR-22. An SR-22 will increase your insurance rates and allow your insurance company to “rat you out” if your insurance ever expires.

Click Here to Get a Free Consultation with a DUI Lawyer

As an additional requirement, you’ll have to put an interlock device or breath-testing device on your car’s steering wheel. In order to start your car or continue driving it, you’ll have to blow into this device every 15 minutes. If you fail to blow into it every 15 minutes, your engine will turn off. Every 90 days, you’ll have to take the car in to have the chip in the interlock or breath-testing reviewed to make sure you never blew above a .020 BAC. This BAC requirement has built-in leeway to account for alcohol that may be contained in medicines or absorbed through methods other than drinking. It’s below the BAC most people blow after a single drink, so if you have any drinks and drive, you’ll fail the review.

(more…)


Fourth of July 2014 DUI Patrols

** If you are looking for DUI Checkpoint Do’s and Don’ts, Click Here.

A_Day_on_the_Water,_Crusing,_Sydney_Boating_(4055233060)

Summertime is one of the best times to enjoy the outdoors with family and friends. and more specifically, the Fourth of July is a time when people in Arizona head to the lake for some fun in the sun! With that comes increased risk of drinking and driving (or boating). Local law enforcement in Arizona is out looking to arrest people for DUI if they have consumed too much alcohol and think they are OK to drive a car or boat. Our suggestion is if you’ve had any alcohol, please get a ride. If you are out on the lake boating, make sure you have a designated driver because law enforcement may be conducting sobriety checkpoints (and looking for life jackets for every passenger!!) on the lakes in Arizona (Bartlett Lake, Lake Pleasant, Roosevelt Lake, Apache Lake, Canyon Lake, Lake Havasu, Colorado River, and Saguaro Lake).

If you find yourself at one of these sobriety checkpoints and are not sure what your BAC level is, read our DUI do’s and don’ts HERE.  That page will provide you with all the knowledge necessary about what to do if stopped by law enforcement after you have been drinking. For example, don’t take the eye test or any coordination tests.  You are not required to do these and if the officer is asking you to do any test, chances are he/she is going to arrest you anyway.  The test results just help the prosecutors case.

If you found this page after being suspected or arrested for DUI on the Fourth of July 2014 weekend, we have a number of resources relating to DUI and OUI (Boating DUI) in Arizona.

The most important thing you MUST do is ask to speak with an attorney BEFORE agreeing to any test (breath, blood, etc.).   Put our phone number (602-307-0808) in your cell phone now and call us before speaking to police.


Denial of Right to Counsel – Arizona DUI Defenses

Denial of right to counsel is an important defense for DUI cases. When being arrested, you always have a right to legal counsel, but it is particularly vital in the case of a DUI arrest. If you are prohibited from talking to an attorney which prevents you from obtaining his advice, your body will naturally eliminate the evidence of blood alcohol content that can be used for or against you. The police may tell you that your blood alcohol content is above the legal limit, but it may not be; in the meantime, your body is burning off the alcohol, making the determination more difficult.

David Cantor explains the DUI Defense of Denial of right to counsel:

The key cases on this issue are Holland v. State of Arizona, Juarez v. State of Arizona, McNut v. State of Arizona, Edwards v. State of Arizona and the latest one, Penney v. State of Arizona. In Edwards v. State of Arizona, which went up to the United States Supreme Court, Mr. Edwards said, “I think I should talk to a lawyer.” The Court said that was equivocal, or ambiguous, and Mr. Edwards needed to be unequivocal when requesting a lawyer. Instead, Edwards should have said “I want to talk to a lawyer” or “I need to talk to a lawyer.” The minute you say this, the police have to get you to a phone and a phonebook in a private area so you can talk to a lawyer.

The Holland v. State of Arizona case deals with eleven specific questions a lawyer will ask you. These include, “what did you drink?”; “when did you start drinking?”; “when did you stop drinking?”; “when was the last time you ate?” Certain information needs to be known so the lawyer can approximate what your blood alcohol content will be so you can decide whether to submit to a blood or breath alcohol test. The attorney will also be able to tell you to request to be released in order to get an independent chemical test at a hospital.

The additional guidance a lawyer can provide is important. A lawyer can tell you not to answer any further questions, not to do any further physical tests, and probably get a blood or breath test because the police will likely get a warrant for it and get a test by force. But if you’re stopped for a DUI and you request a lawyer but were not given a lawyer or the police were not quick to respond, contact our firm. You can set up an appointment at www.DMCantor.com or call 602-307-0808 at any time to get a Free Case Review. An initial consultation is free and takes just 30 minutes.

Be sure to visit our DUI case victories for a sampling of DUI cases we’ve won in Arizona.


Click to Watch Important Questions to Ask when Hiring a Lawyer

Request a Free Consultation

Fill out the form below to recieve a free and confidential intial consultation.


DM Cantor

Call 24/7 602-307-0808

40 N Central Ave, Ste 2300
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Click here for Directions

For Family Law questions please go to Cantor Law Group.
For Car Accident or Personal Injury Visit Cantor Injury Lawyers.
[contact-form-7 id="8868" title="Exit Intent"]